My First Trip to Luxor & The Chronicles of Sir Walter Skittish

Image

 

Yes, you have guessed correctly. It’s dodgy, self timed, sun set picture time. Unfortunately I can not seem to do the sunset here any justice but at least you can see us (sort of). I’m still having a wonderful time here on the West Bank and even ventured as far as the East Bank for some dinner and beverages with friends. 

Image

I found this little delight from my home town floating around, not taking a picture was out of the question. I don’t normally advertise on this blog but I will take a minute to mention this place for it’s recent charitable exploits. It is hard to ignore the poverty you can see across Egypt at the moment, worsened by the lack of tourists. My advise however is to not give money to beggars, especially children. Nine times out of Ten they are not truly impoverished but sent out to make an easy wage. This is where the King’s Head comes in with their “Pending food and drinks”

As we are sure you all know, there is an awful lot of poverty within Luxor which is only growing at the moment due to the climate of Egypt. We are aware that many people, ourselves included, are reluctant to hand over money to beggars on the street, preferring to give food and/or drinks. We are now “PENDING” from our menu. If, when you order, you would like to add on a Cola, Water, Soup or any other item we provide, we will take all products that are “pending” down to our local Mosque, Church and Homeless shelters and distribute them to the poor. Thank you in advance for your co-operation and generosity.

A wonderful idea that guarantees to get the help to those who are truly in need of it.
Speaking of drinks, do you remember how Coca Cola used to taste in the UK? Well I do and it is still sold as it used to taste right here alongside Fanta.

ImageImage

Don’t get me wrong, I normally NEVER purchase anything from this dreadful company. My hand has been forced however as I have to drink bottled water and the only water you can get here is Dasani. As soon as I get back to the UK I’ll go right on never buying the stuff again.

Remember that food picture I promised you? Once again I scoffed it before I could produce photographic evidence of it’s existence but here is the lovely chef who cooked it for me on open coals. It was Kofta and it tasted great.

Image

 

Now I know you are all perishing with the suspense of Sir Walter Skittish’s fate.

Image

My first attempt at catching him with the towel failed so I had to re-think my plan. Supplied with a box, a stick, some string, and some bird feed we had to catch Sir Skittish with the James Woods method.

 

Once Bound up he was ready to go 

Image

in the box and on the back of a motor cycle.

Image 

I am happy to report that he is back with his former owners and lording it over his other bird friends. The owners were reportedly happy with how fat we had made him and were overjoyed to have him returned to them.

It’s always good to have a happy ending.

About JoNeaIsisMarie

Coupled 21 year old +11 years Exp, Egyptology/Ancient History Graduate. I Am now studying a full time MA at the University of Birmingham in International Heritage Management. I also Cook and Bake
This entry was posted in Tourism World-Wide and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Trip to Luxor & The Chronicles of Sir Walter Skittish

  1. annetbell says:

    We stopped buying soda in bottles in India because it was obvious that someone refilled them….we only would be cans as they seemed safer. Namaste. . .Anne

  2. yvonne says:

    Glad the pigeon is back to its owner 🙂 he was good compagny on the time I was alone at the flat, both watching the sun go down ! YB

Leave a reply or ask me a question.

